Reviews

My partner and I had a fantastic stay. We were the first guests and received a warm welcome upon our arrival. We were shown around the accommodation and given some very useful information about where to eat and what to see. We were then left to enjoy the comforts in complete peace. The accommodation was new, boasting a comfortable very large bed, Sky TV set up, beautiful ensuite, spacious storage cupboards with hangers, tea and coffee making facilities and a beautiful view of the town centre, pier and ocean. Wow! And oh so clean! There are some great restaurants and bars in town. We tried the Rick Stein on the right hand side of the pier and just as Peter said, the food, service and atmosphere here was really great. If you are lucky the sea will be wild like it was for us, providing an entertaining spectacle of crashing waves. Peters new accommodation provided a perfect base from which to explore Porthlevan and the surrounding region. We highly recommend it, we will be back. Thanks Peter!

Isaac – December 2015

We stayed at PJ’s for the Easter Bank Holiday weekend and had a fantastic time. The accommodation is spotless, spacious and very comfortable. Peter and Janet were wonderful hosts, welcoming us with refreshments (and chocolate Easter treats!) and being as available as we needed them to be, but also giving us space to do our own thing. We sampled breakfast on one of the mornings which had a great choice and we really enjoyed it, especially the fact it was all local produce where available. The cottage is just a few minutes walk into the town where there are plenty of restaurants, cafes and pubs to choose from; we were spoilt for choice. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend PJ’s to friends and family and would definitely consider staying there again. They really have thought of everything and the little added extras such as locally produced shower gel show that they are willing to go the extra mile to welcome their guests. Thank you for such a lovely weekend!

Jenny – March 2016

We had a fantastic stay. I really couldn’t fault a thing. We were greeted with a lovely tea on arrival, the room and en suite were brand new and therefore spotlessly clean. It was also done to a very high spec- furnished as you’d expect a top hotel to be. The room also has a lovely view down to Porthleven. The photos don’t do it justice. Peter and Janet were lovely hosts and couldn’t have been more helpful. Great breakfast with locally sourced produce. It was great having our own front door and key so we could come and go as we pleased. Finally, best of all was how dog friendly they were- providing blankets, towels, dog bowls and dog treats for our dog, Polly. She loved the place as much as we did! It was a great stop on our south west coast path walk and we will definitely be back, ideally for more than one night!

Owen – March 2016

We had a wonderful stay at PJs with such friendly hosts. The room was lovely with stunning views (surf room). The bed was extremely comfy and there was everything you would need etc (e.g hairdryer, tea/coffee etc.) The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, the best we have ever had in a B&B. We really appreciated the effort they went to, to showcase cornish produce and it has paid off. We are already figuring out when we will stay there again.

Nicola – April 2016

 We had a fantastic stay and were really impressed with the whole experience. The room was very comfortable with an amazing shower! The finishing touches really made a difference from a cup of British tea and biscuits on arrival to local honey cosmetics in the bathroom, its a local B&B done really well.

Abi and Andy – April 2016

Thank-you Peter and Janet for your hospitality and making us so welcome. The room and en-suite were great……….very clean and extremely comfortable. We were in Porthleven for the Food Festival and it was a relief to stay somewhere quiet! The house is only a few minutes walk from the harbour and our room had a fantastic view, particularly of the fireworks on the Saturday night. I’d recommend your B&B to anyone wanting to explore this part of Cornwall.

Danka – April 2016

Stayed at PJ,s bed and breakfast for a short three night break for Flora weekend. The accommodation is excellent, clean and very Peter and Janet are friendly hosts. Breakfasts were lovely, and good choice of food. Would definitely recommend.

Shaun & Marian – May 2016

This place is awesome. Clean, stylish, everything catered for and such lovely hosts. If you want a place to stay that has views, great hosts, great rooms and a brilliant breakfast this is for you.

Steve – May 2016

Peter was a great host, welcoming us with a cup of tea and some amazing homemade flapjack! He gave us great recommendations for local places to eat and drink. The room and en suite were very modern and comfortable, we loved staying in the “Surf” room with views down to the harbour, which is only a minute walk down the hill. Great location, greats hosts, really enjoyed our stay. thanks!

Gordon – May 2016

The two rooms are brand new and super clean, and the twin room was bright and spacious. Breakfast is superb, with locally produced food of the best quality. Owners are friendly and helpful and even gave us bisquits to take for our walk. Ten out of ten.

Embla & Marius – May 2016

Having just returned home from a fantastic 5 night stay at PJ’s, we would highly recommend this friendly and very well located B&B.. The hosts, Peter and Janet went out of their way to ensure our stay with them was excellent; the room was modern and contemporary, the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice (including fresh local crab with asparagus and scrambled egg) and their knowledge of the area helped us to make very good choices, both in terms of coastal path walks during the day and eating out in the harbour in the evening. We were impressed that Peter and Janet supported local traders, for example tea grown in Cornwall and local honey based bathroom products. Porthleven is a thriving busy port, with lots of interesting history to explore. From PJ’s its an easy, short stroll down to the port, where the fishing industry is still very active. There is an excellent selection of local restaurants, many of which offer the ‘catch of the day’ in their specials We especially enjoyed the atmosphere at The Ship Inn, right by the waters edge. Either side of Porthleven the beautiful coastal path provides amazing walking, with grey seals, gannet’s and an array of colourful spring flowers to enjoy. The whole experience was amazing and we plan to return!

Philip & Sally – June 2016

Brand new and very comfortable B&B just a five minute walk from Porthleven Harbour. The breakfast was delicious, not the common B&B fare. Only Cornish ingredients. Engaging in conversation with Peter and Janet was nice. SWCP hikers (also with dogs) are welcome.

Jean- Daniel Pluess – June 2016

Exceptional stay at this homely and friendly B&B – part of SWCP walk. Fantastic view, comfy bed, all toiletries etc provided. Friendlywelcome. Rooms are private and quiet – hosts attentive. Lovely dog too.

Andrew – June 2016

I was made to feel really welcome by Peter. The room was perfect. It felt private and was spacious, well designed and with lovely views of the village and sea beyond. I would happily recommend the b&b to anyone wishing to visit Porthleven.

Laura – June 2016

I stayed with my friend Andreas at PJ’s in May and we had a wonderful time!

PJs is located close to the center and beach – just a 5 -7 minutes walk. The rooms are perfectly new and clean one of them with a stunning ocean view. Peter is a great host – he had many valuable recommendations for our trip through Cornwall – thank you Peter!
We also had a wonderful breakfast at PJs !!!!
I can happily recommend the b&b and will certainly come again one time.

Marion – June 2016

I very much enjoyed my stay at PJ’s, in a lovely light and spacious room with a view of the sea. The location was great, very quiet with just a short walk down to the harbour. Peter and Janet made me feel very welcome and gave me helpful local information. The bed was blissfully comfortable with high quality cotton bedding, the en suite had lovely powerful shower and everything was very clean. I can’t comment on the breakfast as I wanted to meet friends in one of Porthleven’s many good cafes, so was very glad to have the option not to have breakfast,though it did look and smell fantastic, with a wide range on offer. I would definitely stay there again, and can recommend highly!

Phillipa – July 2016

Hi Peter and Janet

Thanks again for supporting my fundraising venture, Jim’s Journey, and for looking after me so well.

I really enjoyed my stay at PJ’s. You were excellent hosts, the room was ideal and the breakfast helped me complete the lengthy trek to The Lizard (around 18 miles, to include detours around headlands and going around Housel Bay)!

I will organise a review when I can. I’ve got a lot of admin to catch up on!

If you’re interested, the photos from my walks immediately before and after reaching Porthleven can be found here…

https://www.facebook.com/Jims-Journey-1102417966497648/photos/?tab=album&album_id=1153723901367054

https://www.facebook.com/Jims-Journey-1102417966497648/photos/?tab=album&album_id=1154907957915315

Thanks again and all the best for the future.

Jim Bray – July 2016

We have just stayed at this lovely establishment . It is what I would call the Gem in Porthlevens crown . We feel 5 stars is not enough to give it. Its credit level requires 5++++ .
Peter and Janet the wonderful hosts and business owners have all the right boxes ticked from us and their attention to detail is top notch .We have travel lots and this place was supherb .We had not been there 10 minutes and we were brought a Tea tray after our long journey this was great . We stayed in their Surf room high up which looks out over gorgeous Porthleven we had 360 views amazing . Just so peaceful chilling and we slept like babies .I have never stayed in such a clean comfortable home from home place in ages .
We had a lush to die for breakfast all cooked fresh and again amazing food and awesome sea views while having breakfast .Janet and Peter looked after us and are so attentive and we were spoilt .I award this place a platinum star .!!!!! This place caters for couples individuals and families and if you have a dog they are dog lovers and allow dogs infact have their own who is delightful and vwry friendly so in a nut shell if you visit porthleven dont waste your time looking around and paying for over rated places just book here because in no way will you be disappointed . We will return we also met Janets mother who was lovely we came as customers but left as friends because thats how warm friendly and delightful these owners we wish them well in their new business so please read this review and pay a visit and give this business and its owners the credit it deserves WELL DONE AND MASSIVE THANK YOU

Linda – July 2016

Lovely four night stay in the Surf Room; a bright, modern and spacious room with great views of beautiful Porthleven Harbour. Perfect for myself and my dog Bob who was well catered for with dog treats, towels and a bed all to himself. Very thoughtful touches from the hosts, Peter and Janet, e.g. home-made flapjacks in the room (and packed for me for my long journey home), proper coffee (none of your instant rubbish!) and fresh milk. I would highly recommend PJ’s and I am likely to return again to visit nearby family.

Sandra and Bob – July 2016

Nice, clean & spacious room with great view towards the port. Friendly & caring host. Everything fine 😉

Jorg – July 2016

We had a warm welcome from Janet when we arrived. Everything was as described in the listing. It was a beautifully appointed, bright and airy room. We particularly liked the fact that you had a view of the harbour from the room. We were in Cornwall as my husband was doing a charity swim around St Michael’s Mount for the Chestnut Appeal. Peter and Janet provided us with a delicious breakfast and then kindly refused the money to pay for it, but said to put it towards the appeal. We thought that was very generous of them. Thank you so much for providing us with a very comfortable stay for 2 nights.

Sharon – July 2016

We had a lovely stay at this B&B. The rooms are very modern, clean and spacious and our room (Surf) had excellent views of the harbour. Breakfast was delicious and Peter and Janet were excellent hosts and lovely people to stay with. We would definitely recommend!

Peter – August 2016

Very nice and quiet B&B. Warm welcome by Peter and Janet. Perfect breakfast with sea views and completely new rooms! Was the last stop on our coast tour. Very suitable for long distance hikers.

Alexander – September 2016

We had a very warm welcome from Janet on our arrival, who showed us to our room and made us drinks to settle in. The location was perfect, just a five minute walk from porthleven but with the added bonus of an amazing view of the harbour from our window. Peter the host was very welcoming and couldn’t do enough for us and we wouldn’t want to miss out Mystic their very friendly dog who greeted us with lots of cuddles! Overall the stay ticked every box to include lots of choice for breakfast which was freshly cooked. We would definately recommend PJ’s for anyone who wishes to have a short or long break, dog walkers or coastal path walkers. There’s something for everyone with the added Cornish charm.

Tricia – September 2016

Great room with a spectacular view over the harbour! Very comfortable and everything you could need was provided! Would highly recommend the breakfast!!

Dawn – September 2016

Very comfortable stay with a delicious breakfast in the morning!

Joe – September 2016

We had a very comfortable two night stay with Peter and Janet. PJ’s is a gem of a B&B if you are looking for quality accommodation that also welcomes dogs. The whole experience exudes quality from the moment you step through the door. Our double room (with sea view) was spacious, well thought out and beautifully furnished. Personal touches such as quality linen, his and hers mugs and Cornish beverages and toiletries enhanced our stay.

Breakfast was nothing short of outstanding with local produce beautifully presented and cooked. The homemade crab cakes are divine – so good I asked for the recipe!

Peter and Janet are wonderful welcoming hosts, providing good conversation, very eager to please (but in no way overbearing) and rightfully proud of their increasingly successful accommodation.

We would highly recommend PJ’s and shall certainly return ourselves.

Robin & Rosie – February 2017

We stayed for two nights this May bank holiday weekend and had a fabulous experience. The view from the double room is picture perfect and the room exceptionally clean, bright and welcoming. Both Peter and his wife Janet are sociable and great company to chat with over breakfast and the choice and quality of food exceptional. We were attending a birthday weekend in the area and the location of the property meant we didn’t use the car once from Saturday through until Monday. easy walking distance to the village and the delights that Porthleven has to offer. We will be back for sure. Thank you

Lucy – May 2017

We had a great stay in Porthleven, courtesy of Peter and Janet. The room and bed were very comfortable and it was an excellent Cornish breakfast, especially the crab cakes. We didn’t bring a dog. We didn’t need to – there was a very friendly one already there!
Our advice to coast path walkers is don’t follow the road directions to the house but come straight up from the harbour through the town. It’s much quicker!

John & Carmel – May 2017

This is a 5 starer! We had a great room with a view over the town to the sea, which we didn’t expect. The bed was v.comfortable and the facilities excellent. Breakfast was great, a Cornish produce treat. A big + is it takes and likes dogs, essential for us as we walk the coast path with ours.

Thanks P&J!

Graham & Sue – June 2017

After being battered by rain and wind on the coastal path for 10 hours we decided not to camp and luckily managed to get a room here. It could not have been a better decision. Peter and Janet are very welcoming. They fed us well and dried all of our wet clothes and boots. The double room was perfect with an amazing view of the harbour and sea front. Highly recommended

Marcus – June 2017

Submit a review

Review
Sending